The Silent Children by Carol Wyer #BlogTour

I am delighted to share my 4 star review for
The Silent Children by Carol Wyer on Blog Tour today


The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck.
With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie, and pulled his collar high
above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this...

Years later, a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a
draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed.

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case,
but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on
is a size-ten footprint.

Then a nurse is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase,
and a seemingly insignificant detail in her friend’s statement makes
Robyn wonder: are the two bodies connected, and has the killer only just
begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realises she’s in a race
against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks
she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before
another life is lost?

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will
keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbott
and Robert Dugoni.



My Thoughts

The Silent Children is the fourth book in the Robyn Carter series For those of you that follow my reviews will know I am a massive fan of this series. Which actually only started this year in 2017 It is amazing to think that the author has written four books in only one year! Has always I will be totally honest and The Missing Girls is still a firm favourite of mine out of the four books. I couldn't wait to get stuck into The Silent Children after seeing that fabulous cover.

In this story we catch up with Detective Robyn Carter on a new case when a man is found shot in a park and then a nurse is found at the bottom of the stairs in a pool of blood But what is the connection between the two victims?! Then a third body is found can Robyn and her team find the killer because they strike again?

Like the previous books this one starts off with a cracking prologue that will leave you wanting more. There are quite a few characters to keep up with this story making  it harder to guess who the killer was. I must admit I didn't have a clue. I love the alternating chapters between the case and the flashbacks which builds the story up. It’s a tense and original plot, but I would of liked more dark and twisted. I did feel it was missing that compared to the first three books.

This is a series not to be missed I simply love Robyn, her background is so intriguing I really want to know more. I cannot wait to see what is in store for her next.

The Silent Children will have you guessing from start to finish which I highly recommend giving it 4 stars.

Thank you to Kim Nash at Bookouture for inviting me to take part in this fab tour.

UK
πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§

US
πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ



About the author:


Carol E. Wyer is an award-winning author whose humorous books take a
light-hearted look at getting older and encourage others to age disgracefully.
More recently she has chosen to write for the "dark side" and embarked on a
series of thrillers, starting with the gripping best-seller, Little Girl Lost.
Her book Grumpy Old Menopause won The People's Book Prize Award
for non-fiction 2015.
Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing
'Irritable Male Syndrome' and 'Ageing Disgracefully' and on BBC Breakfast
television. She has had articles published in national magazines
'Woman's Weekly' featured in 'Take A Break', 'Choice', 'Yours' and
'Woman's Own' magazines and writes regularly for The Huffington Post.
Carol is a signed author with Bookouture and Delancey Press.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol
on Twitter: @carolewyer.





Popular Posts