Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer

I am delighted to share my 5 star review on blog tour for Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer


The Book
Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

My Thoughts

Secrets of the Dead is the second book in the Detective Robyn Carter crime thriller series. Which I couldn't wait to read after loving Carol’s debut crime novel Little Girl Lost. OMG this series just got a whole lot better with this second installment. I loved it just has much has the first one if not more.

Set in Lichfield we follow Detective Robin on the hunt for a brutal killer who the press call The Leopard. I loved the fact that this is set in a place that is near to me and Carol’s descriptions are spot on and I certainly felt like I was in the story.

A word of warning... be prepared not to get anything done once you start this book. I devoured it in one day, talk about being unputdownable. It is full of tension and plenty of twists and turns and will have you guessing until the end.

We get to know more about Robyn in this story and she is fast becoming one of my favourite detectives.  

Carol’s definitely made the right decision coming over to the dark side. I cannot wait to read the next installment.

This is a must read for fans of Angela Marsons  which I highly recommend giving it 5 massive stars.


About the author
As a child Carol Wyer was always moving, and relied on humour to fit in at new schools. A funny short story won her popularity, planting the seed of becoming a writer. Her career spans dry cleaning, running a language teaching company, and boxercise coaching. Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published by Safkhet and journalism in many magazines.
Carol won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015), and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.



Popular Posts