A Daughter's Courage by Renita D’Silva #BlogTour

Today I am delighted to share my 5 star review on Blog Tour for A Daughter's Courage by Renita D’Silva which is out now.
How much would you sacrifice to save your family?

1929. When a passionate love affair threatens to leave Lucy in disgrace, she chooses a respectable marriage over a life of shame. With her husband, coffee plantation owner James, she travels to her new home in India, leaving her troubled past behind her.

Everything in India is new to Lucy, from the jewel-coloured fabrics to the exotic spices. When her path crosses that of Gowri, a young woman who tends the temple on the plantation’s edge, Lucy is curious to find out more about her, and the events that lead her to live in isolation from her family…

Now. With her career in shatters and her heart broken by the man she thought was her future, Kayva flees from bustling Mumbai to her hometown. A crumbling temple has been discovered in a village nearby, and with it letters detailing its tragic history – desperate pleas from a young woman called Gowri.

As Kavya learns of Gowri and Lucy’s painful story, she begins to understand the terrible sacrifices that were made and the decision the two women took that changed their lives forever. Can the secrets of the past help Kavya to rebuild her life?

A breath-taking journey through the rolling hills of India, deep into the secrets hidden within a family. For fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Victoria Hislop.

My Thoughts
This is the first book that I have read by Renita and certainly won't be my last. After reading rave reviews from Joseph Calleja over at relax and read reviews I felt very intrigued to read Renita’s latest novel after seeing that beautiful book cover. A cover that I just want to jump into!
So after reading the prologue  I was like WOW I am loving Renita’s writing. Now that I have finished it I am like OMG what a mesmerizing beautifully written story, nothing like I have read before which has totally blown me away.
Renita transports us back to 1920 in India and the UK where we follow a story written from four women's point of view over a time scale from then until now.  Keeping the reader guessing what the connection between the characters is. Telling a story about heartache and family secrets.
Everything about this story felt so real including the characters.
This is one truly captivating, breathtaking emotional read that will pull on your heartstrings with descriptions that will make you feel right there in the story they are simply stunning.
What more can I say but I loved this book which I cannot recommend enough giving it 5 massive stars.
Thank you to Bookouture for a copy in exchange for a honest review.
 About the author
Renita grew up in a picturesque coastal village in the South of India, the oldest of three children. Her father got her first story books when she was six and she fell in love with the world of stories. Even now she prefers that world, by far, to this.



Popular Posts