28 December 2016

Sewing the Shadows Together by Alison Baillie

Sewing the Shadows TogetherSewing the Shadows Together by Alison Baillie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sewing In The Shadows has been sitting on my to be read pile for a months now. And I sure as hell wished I'd of read it sooner What can I say but the bloggers that have read it wasn't wrong when they told me how good it was....it's absolutely brilliant. I was that engrossed I read it in one sitting. Talk about grabbing you from the start and not letting you go. This is without a doubt a book everyone needs to read. From the story-line to how its written its spot on!

30 Years after 13-year-old Shona McIver was raped and murdered in Portobello. Her Brother and best friend are reunited when the case is reopened due to modern DNA evidence shows the wrong man has been convicted of the crime. Sarah and Tom are caught up in the search for Shona’s murderer, and suspicions fall on family and friends. The foundations of Sarah’s perfect family life begin to crumble as she realises that nothing is as it appears. Dark secrets from the past are uncovered, and there is another death, before the identity of the real killer is finally revealed... with the big question being who did kill Shona?!

I seriously cannot believe this is a debut novel the author has written this so well it's like she has been writing for years.Alison has definitely got a natural talent for writing I was hooked from the start and taken to the city of Edinburgh,where I actually felt like I was there.Tom and Sarah are likable characters and easy to relate to. The twists and turns in this story are brilliant keeping me on the edge of my seat and guessing until the end.

The author has done a brilliant job of entwining the past with the present making this story simply flow.

If you haven't read this story yet it is a must read you won't be disappointed.This is without a doubt a must read. I can not recommend it enough giving it 5 massive stars.

Thank you to the author for a copy in exchange for an honest review.





View all my reviews

27 December 2016

Fear Dreams by J.A. Schneider

Fear Dreams (Detective Kerri Blasco #1)Fear Dreams by J.A. Schneider
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is my first book that I have read by J.A Schneider and certainly wont be my last. And I wish I would of read it sooner that's how much I enjoyed it.

Fear Deams is a new Female Detective series where we meet Kerri Blasco. Written from artist Liddy Barron and Detective Kerri Blasco points of view telling the story of Lindsay who was injured in a hit and run accident that leaves her with recurring nightmares and gaps in her memory, she begins to see ghostly images. Kerri is also obsessed with disappearance of young Sasha Senses Liddy may have the key to solving the case.

Kerri is very like-able and determined and I cant wait to read more of her to see her character unfold. I feel there is lots more to know about her.

The story starts of slower than what I normally like to read but it soon picks up speed and had me guessing until the end. The author certainly knows how to keep you guessing that's for sure. Making this one very intriguing read.

This is a psychological thriller with a mix of crime and ghostly experiences so for me this is a mix of all my favorite three genres mixed into one......Happy days what more could I ask for.

I highly recommend this giving it 4 stars. Thank you to the author for a copy exchange for an honest review



View all my reviews

Left for Dead by Deborah Rogers

Left for DeadLeft for Dead by Deborah Rogers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Having read The Devils Wire and loving it I couldn't wait to get stuck into this Novella Left For Dead.

Told from Amelia Kellaway point of view. After quitting her job and turning her back on the suffocating corporate world of a New York law firm to embark on a three month solo trek of the California Coastal Trail.We follower her on one terrifying journey where her dream turns into a nightmare by being kidnapped. We get inside her head with brilliant descriptions of her emotions after the kidnapping, making me will Amelia along.

This is a story about fighting for survival when left for dead The Author has wrote a tense a gripping story where I wanted to know why she was kidnapped making this a page turner.

With this story being a Novella I flew through it. I have to say while reading this story I felt like I had seen it has a movie has it is kind of along the lines of the Wrong Turn films which I love.

The Author has put a lot of excitement into this and I feel the length was just right.

And the ending.....I certainly wasn't excepting that! If your looking for a short and face paced read I highly recommend this giving it 4 stars.

Thank You to Deborah Rogers for an advanced copy of this in exchange for a honest review.


View all my reviews

22 December 2016

WITNESS by Caroline Mitchell ~~~~~Blog Tour~~~~~~

I am super excited to share my 5 star review with you today on blog tour for WITNESS by Caroline Mitchell,which is out now.



The Book
To Rebecca it was a brave decision that led to her freedom from domestic abuse. To Solomon it was the ultimate betrayal.
It’s been ten years since Rebecca’s testimony saw Solomon locked away. Enough time for the nightmares to recede, the nerves to relax; enough time to rebuild her life and put the past behind her.
Then one day a phone rings in her bedroom—but it’s not her phone. Solomon has been in her home, and has a very simple message for her: for each of the ten years he has spent in jail, Rebecca must witness a crime. And, to make matters worse, she has to choose the victims.
Fail to respond and you get hurt. Talk to police and you die. Ready to play? You have sixty seconds to decide…
As the crimes grow more severe, the victims closer to home, Rebecca is forced to confront a past she had hoped was gone forever.


My Thoughts

Caroline Mitchell is fast becoming one of my favourite authors this year with a new Detective Ruby Preston in a new crime thriller series and now this Psychological  thriller Witness. Holy freaking hell what a book this is to. Most of you know that I am a massive fan of Psychological thrillers and it has been a while since I have one that I want to scream from the roof tops about until I read this one! Caroline has totally smashed it with this tense, nail biting page turner. Words cannot describe how good this book is because it is absolutely unputdownable. You guys are in for one hell of a white knuckle ride that's for sure.

The story starts of on Sept 12th 2007 with one tense edge of your seat scene where we meet Rebecca. The author has totally set the scene for the story that we then follow. With Rebecca who was a victim of domestic abuse 10 years ago. Who see’s Solomon locked away. She has since moved on with her life and put the past behind her. Until one day a phone rings in her bedroom—but it’s not her phone. Solomon has been in her home, and has a very simple message for her: for each of the ten years he has spent in jail, Rebecca must witness a crime. And, to make matters worse, she has to choose the victims.
Fail to respond and you get hurt. Talk to police and you die. Ready to play? You have sixty seconds to decide…
WOW.WOW.WOW  what a clever story….This is with a doubt a must read book!
The story is written from Rebecca and Solomon’s point of view flicking from 2016 to 2007 with Diary entries in between, The author has wrote this story in such a way that you will be hooked from start to finish and keeping you guessing until the end. There is nothing not to like about this book and it ticked all the boxes for me. And I would love to see this made into film. The whole game story line reminded me of the Saw films which are my favourite films. So for fans of Saw and Psychological  thrillers you will not be disappointed this is one hell of a nail biter which I cannot  recommend enough  giving it 5 big massive gold stars.





18 December 2016

THE DOG WITH THE GOLDEN EYES BY L.M KAY ~~~~~~~BLOG TOUR~~~~~~~

THE DOG WITH THE GOLDEN EYES
BY L.M KAY
Genre: Children's Fiction>Action  & Adventure>Mysteries & Detectives
Release Date: December 2016
Nicholas James Corrigan is a small boy who doesn’t speak. One day he meets a strange dog and discovers they can understand each other's thoughts. Nicholas James was a key witness to a crime when he was little and now The Man Who Did the Very Bad Thing is back and looking for him. Can his faithful new friend protect him? There’s only one way to find out!


MY THOUGHTS
From the moment I first clapped eyes on this stunning cover I couldn't wait to read this book.  I am familiar with the author’s writing but Lesley has turned her hand at writing a children's book. Firstly I have to say that one of the things that makes this book so special is the beautiful illustrations throughout the story. They are stunning.


In this story we meet Nicolas James Corrigan who lives with his aunt. Nicholas doesn't speak and while out with his aunt he meets a strange dog and discovers they can understand each other's thoughts. Nicholas James was a key witness to a crime when he was little and now The Man Who Did the Very Bad Thing is back and looking for him. But can his faithful new friend protect him?


The idea of this story is simply wonderful with Nicolas James and the Strange dog’s friendship grows from the second they meet. The author has done a brilliant job of portraying this throughout the story building a brilliant bond between them.


And to be totally honest this is what I needed after just getting my reading mojo back. It is an easy and captivating read where you can't help but love the characters...oh apart from the very bad man. He’s the baddie in the story so he isn't meant to be loved.


Even though this is a children's novel it can be read my people of all ages and it is one of those stories that adults will love. I certainly did. And I hope there is more to come from Nicolas  I have my fingers crossed that this is going to be a series.


I highly recommend this book giving it 5 stars and would like to thank Lesley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.

BUY LINKS
Available in both kindle and paperback!

ABOUT L.M KAY
L M Kay is a pen-name of Lesley Tither, who also writes adult crime fiction under the pen-name L M Krier. She lives in France with her two border collies, Fleur and Rosie.
GIVEAWAY
A signed paperback copy of the book
(Open Internationally)


17 December 2016

Scared To Death by Rachel Amphlett ~~~~~Blog Tour~~~~~

Today I am delighted it is my stop on Scared To Death by Rachel Amphlett Blog Tour where I get to share my 5 star review with you.



The Book



A serial killer murdering for kicks. A detective seeking revenge.



When the body of a snatched schoolgirl is found in an abandoned biosciences building, the case is first treated as a kidnapping gone wrong.


But Detective Kay Hunter isn’t convinced, especially when a man is found dead with the ransom money still in his possession.


When a second schoolgirl is taken, Kay’s worst fears are realised.


With her career in jeopardy and desperate to conceal a disturbing secret, Kay’s hunt for the killer becomes a race against time before he claims another life.


For the killer, the game has only just begun…


My Thoughts


After hearing such good things about this book I couldn't wait to get stuck in and I certainly wasn't disappointed it looks like I have found myself a new author. Scared To death is the first book that I have read by Rachel Amphlett and certainly won't be my last. I freaking loved it.


In this story we are introduced to a new detective Kay Hunter who has a hidden past and an uncertain future. We follow Kay on a totally gripping hunt for a serial killer. The story starts off with a bang where a couple are in search for their daughter who has been kidnapped. Every parents worse nightmare. Kay is called out to an abandoned biosciences building where a body of a school girl is found. The case is first treated as a kidnapping gone wrong. Until a man is found dead with ransom money still in his possession. But then a second schoolgirl is found and Kay’s worst fears are realised. Then the hunt for the killer soon becomes a race against time before he claims another life.


OMG what a pulse racing read, I was hooked from the start, this is definitely one of those gripping page turners that I couldn't put down and devoured in one day. Seriously why didn't I read this sooner!


The authors style of writing is fresh and crisp which I loved. And without a doubt this is one exciting start introducing a new detective. Building up the characters while keeping the reader interested in the story line. Honestly this a brilliant start to a fab new series and I can not wait to read more about Kay Hunter in future books.


This is a must read for all crime fans which I highly recommend giving it 5 massive stars.


Thank you to the author for a copy in exchange for a honest review.






16 December 2016

Q&A INTERVIEW WITH ROBERT ENRIGHT

Today I am very excited  that the lovely Robert Enright  Author of Doorways (A Bermuda Jones Case File)
has dropped my blog to take part in my Q&A interview…...so without further ado I would like to welcome the one and only Mr Robert Enright




Can you tell us a little about yourself and background?
Absolutely. I am a 29 (Soon to be 30!) year old writer, born and raised in North West London and now residing in Bushey, Hertfordshire. I am a HR and Systems Analyst by day, having worked for some of the UK's biggest charities and Disney and am a fully functional geek. So nothing too groundbreaking, but I do pride myself on how proactive and driven I am when it comes to my writing.


When did you know that you wanted to become a writer? and how did you go about it?
Years ago. I spent a lot of my time doing creative writing in my teens and then when I got to about 17/18, I started to plan out a comic book series. That evolved into several comic books ideas but I never really finished any of them. That eventually lead to a few film idea's (two of which I have full scripts. One of them is a ROMCOM!!) and that was where One by One became an idea. I turned the script of that into a novel which I self published in March 2015.


After that, I pitched DOORWAYS to Matt at Urbane and we agreed a contract and I somehow managed to get published, which is what I set out to do. :)


Can you tell us what genre your books are and the audience you write for?
Ummm...this is a tricky one. It is an Urban Sci-fi/Fantasy/Crime/Parallel World/Buddy Cop/Mystery/Action Thriller. So it is hard to pitch. However I would say it is for people who enjoy a good mystery, blended with action and a large dose of spooky, sci-fi ideas. It's almost like a dark version of Men in Black, only not with aliens.


Many of the people who have read it are big crime or sci-fi fans and the response has been wonderfully positive so far. So if anyone fancies something different, they should check it out. (Please buy my book.)


What is your writing process? and how long does it take?
It varies. Sometimes I sit down with the intention to write two chapters and I might do a page. Other times I sit down just to re-read the last chapter and end up writing the next one. I have to be left alone though. My poor missus, she gets banished from the room.


I also listen to a lot of instrumental, classical music as well. I find it helps me build scenes. I can also be found talking out loud to myself as I speak the dialogue to make sure it flows.


Are your characters based on anyone you know or are they just fictional?
There are a few characters in the book who are based on people I know, as a way of thanking them for their support. But there are no characters who are the exact same as people in real life.


Have you wrote about a personal experience in your novels?
A few things. Just a few experiences I have drawn on but nothing to deep. Like how I felt when a certain thing happened etc. My life would be a lot more exciting if One by One or Doorways was based on reality.


What research do you do?
I go and see where I am writing. I went for a tourist day round London for Doorways, taking lots of pictures of the London landmarks that are featured in the book. I also went to the Shard to experience that, making notes on what you can see from where.


The next book is based in Glasgow, so I may have to revisit that wonderful city but when it gets a bit warmer!


Who would you like to co-write with and why?
I would love to co-write with Garth Ennis, who is my favourite comic book author. The man just writes such compelling storylines. Also Dennis Lehane, because as a crime writer, I find he really taps into a gritty side of humanity.


Also my friend, David McCaffrey. I absolutely adored Hellbound and seen as how we have had some wonderful discussions around comic books, I reckon we could write something pretty cool.


What's your favorite book?
The Passage Trilogy by Justin Cronin. Its my favourite series of books and the 3rd one, City of Mirrors, has just come out in hardback. I cannot wait to get to grips with it. It's a post apocalyptic, vampire/zombie survival book but just unlike anything I have read.


What's your favorite food?
Bolognese. We have it with Corgetti (because we are modern and cool) but pretty much any italian food.


What's your favorite film?
Man on Fire. Denzel's best performance (in my opinion) and the bond between him and Peta is just so well developed and performed. It's the best revenge film, followed by The Crow, both of which heavily influenced One by One.


What's your favorite song?
New Found Glory's cover of 'King of Wishful Thinking' by Go West. It's absolutely superb.


Also 'California Love' by TuPac, 'Stan' by Eminem, 'My December' by Linkin Park and 'Where'd You Go' by Fort Minor round out my top 5.


Although, The Weeknd's new song, 'I Feel It Coming' is being binge played at the moment.


How can readers find out more information about yourself and your books?
There is a website coming. Hoping to have that launched in early 2017 so that will be available. In the meantime, I am on Social Media fairly regularly and I LOVE hearing from readers and talking about mine or any other book. So add me on the following:




Thank you so much for joining me today and good luck with your book
Thanks for a wonderful interview. :)



12 December 2016

Wild Thing by L.M. Krier

Wild Thing (DI Ted Darling #6)Wild Thing by L.M. Krier
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Having been recommended the DI Ted Darling series only twelve months ago, unbelievably I have devoured all of this series since. With the author writing three of the novels last year and another three this year.....my gosh where has this year gone! But has always LM Krier doesn't disappoint and is one talented lady if I do say so myself. There is something about the style of writing that I love. It very crisp and well written and draws you in from the start.

In this sixth installment of Ted finds myself working on latest case takes him to the darkest side of the human psyche, where identifying the killer is the least of his problems.With random unrelated coldblooded killings happening in the same area where the RSPCA officers are investing. The big question is are these crime connected with the murders? And with distractions in Ted's private life this is last thing he needs with it getting in the way of a complex enquiry.

Firstly did I mention that I lost my reading moto recently? I am happy to say that it is finally back thanks to this corker of a story. Ted is one of those characters which you can not help fall in love with and each story-line taking the reader into another world. Having read all six I feel like I personally know Ted has a person and I love the fact that with each story the author deals with some sensitive subject matters. Making each one impressionable. And Wild Thing certainly does that with some very uncomfortable scenes that made me squirm. But not only that I love the humor that is added in to. And each one being a page turner.

I can't help but wonder where does the author get all theses original story-lines from. With Crime being such a popular genre I can honestly say that these stories are nothing like anything I have read before. I cannot wait to read what is in store for Ted in his next case.

Although this can be read has a standalone,the whole series it is to good not to miss. If your looking for something original why not try Ted, you wont be disappointed.

I highly recommend this giving it 4.5 stars. And would like to thank LM Krier for a copy in exchange for a honest review.







View all my reviews

10 December 2016

Death Stalks Kettle Street by John Bowen

Death Stalks Kettle StreetDeath Stalks Kettle Street by John Bowen
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

John Bowen is certainly full of surprises with this latest novel. Having read Where The Dead Walk, a supernatural Thriller which I loved. Then turning his hand at a who done it mystery. This tells me straight away that the author is very talented knows and is brave enough to come out of their comfort zone and embark writing a story in 
different genre.....Massive high five from me for that!


Well I couldn't wait to get stuck into Death Stalks Kettle Street....what an original title. And the story itself is very unique and nothing like I have read before with some very interesting characters who make this book very quirky.

So in this story we meet Greg Unsworth who has terrible OCD and Beth who has cerebral Palsy. Greg lives in Kettle Street where someone is murdering his neighbors but making them look like Fatal accidents. Greg and Beth meet at the scene of one so called accident and bond over their fears and suspicions. The police repeatedly dismiss their concerns and they take matters into there own hands and attempt to discover the killers identity.

Having read this over a couple of days purely because life has got in the way. The authors style of writing is so captivating with wonderful descriptions I found it easy to pick up where I left off. John has certainly done his medical research with all the information that has been put into the story with the characters medical conditions. I have learnt things that I didn't know before.

I really do hope to read more about Greg and Beth in the future they are characters you cant help but love.

If you are looking for a different kind of murder mystery with a twist I highly recommend this giving it 4 stars.

Thank you to John Bowen for a copy in exchange for an honest review.






View all my reviews