Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley #BlogTour

I am delighted to share my review for Black Heart:(Detective Dan Riley Book 1) by Anna-Lou Weatherley on Blog Tour today


The Book

There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Rileysuspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry. 

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more? 

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds. 

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late? 

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter. 

Previously published as Last Cry.


My Thoughts

Black Heart is the first book in the series introducing Detective Dan Riley. 

The story starts off with a hot and steamy scene where I actually had to check I was reading the right book.  We are made aware that this is a female serial killer from that moment.

Dan lost his girlfriend two years ago in an accident he is still grieving. I like him has a character. There is plenty of character build up in this story. We follow him on the trail for a serial killer who calls herself Goldilocks after a body of a man is found in a London hotel which is made to look like a suicide. 

Alternating from Goldilocks and Dan's POV and third person. I much preferred the story being told from third person. Has I am not a fan of stories told from first person with a repetitive use of the word she and I. 

I especially liked  that it was a female serial killer it's not very often you get that in a crime thriller and I really enjoyed the last 20% of the story has it picks up where it took a turn that I wasn't expecting.

Buy link: myBook.to/BHSocial




About the author

Anna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.

Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture.

https://twitter.com/annaloulondon


Popular Posts