1 April 2017

When We Danced at the End of the Pier by Sandy Taylor ~~~BLOG TOUR~~~

When We Danced at the End of the Pier (Brighton Girls Trilogy Book 1)


Brighton 1930: Maureen O’Connell is a carefree girl, but her family is on the brink of tragedy, war is looming and life will never be the same again.

Jack and Nelson have always been dear friends to Maureen. Despite their different backgrounds, they’ve seen each other through thick and thin.

As Maureen blossoms from a little girl into a young woman, the candle she’s always held for Jack burns bright. But just as she’s found love, war wrenches them apart. The man she cherishes with all her heart is leaving.

When the bombs start to fall, Maureen and her family find themselves living in the most dangerous of times. With Jack no longer by her side and Nelson at war, Maureen has never felt more alone. Can she look to a brighter future? And will she find the true happiness she’s dreamt of?

An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching story about the enduring power of love, hope and friendship during the darkest of days. Perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff, Nadine Dorries and Diney Costeloe.

My Thoughts

This is the first book in the Brighton Girls Trilogy talk about pull at your heartstrings this story has totally touched the bottom of my heart in fact I am a blubbering wreck after reading this. Sandy Taylor what have you done to me LOL. Blown me away is an understatement this book is truly breathtaking.

We follow a story of Maureen O’Connell set in Brighton and we follow her on an emotional roller coaster. Telling a story of her life starting when she is little girl then blossoming into a young lady,about growing up during the war.  She has always been friends with Jack and Nelson but Jack holds the candle to her heart. Just when she finds love the war wrenches them apart. With a war going on and bombs falling around Maureen and her family. Maureen has never felt more alone. Can she look to a brighter future? And will she find the true happiness she’s dreamt of?

OMG.....what a beautifully written story I felt all the emotions that Maureen goes through.The characters are likable and realistic. And I love Sandy’s style of writing drawing me in from the start keeping my captivated until the end. Where the story is nicely tied up. Now I cannot wait to read the second installment of this trilogy.

I still have a lump in the back of my throat just thinking about this amazing story. It made me laugh and cry I cannot recommend it enough. Giving it a 5 massive stars.


About the author

Sandy Taylor grew up on a council estate near Brighton. There were no books in the house, so Sandy’s love of the written word was nurtured in the little local library. Leaving school at fifteen, Sandy worked in a series of factories before landing a job at Butlins in Minehead. This career change led her to becoming a singer, a stand up comic and eventually a playwright and novelist.





2 comments:

  1. This is such a wonderful book, the other two are just as brilliant :) x

    ReplyDelete