19 April 2017

Lie To Me By Jess Ryder #BlogTour

I am so excited to to be kicking off Lie To Me by Jess Ryder Blog Tour, which is out today. Grab your copy on the link below for just 99p

The Book


Lie To Me
How can you tell the truth... if all you've ever known is a lie?

Three minutes. That’s all it takes for Meredith’s entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother who abandoned her.

Meredith can’t believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera?

The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?

To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she’s not the only one looking…

A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.


My Thoughts


OMG this book is so damn good! I am a massive fan of psychological thrillers and Lie To Me is what a psychological thriller is all about. With the author grabbing your attention from the first page and weaving one intriguing story that will have you hooked until the very last page. And to think this is a debut novel. This is one incredible story which totally blew me away.


Lie To me tells a story about Meredith who finds a videotape while cleaning hers father’s attic. She can’t believe her eyes when she watches the it. showing her four-year-old self with her mother who abandoned her. Meredith wants to know the truth of a dangerous story her mother was forced her to tell on camera. The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool where of the murder of a young woman happened over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?


The story alternates between Meredith, Jay and Cara’s perspectives. With two timelines, one in the present and the other set in 1984.Not forgetting the fact that Birmingham sets the scene for some of the story-line with it being local to me. I love that and each chapter leaves you wanting more.


There are characters in this story that you will love, like or hate and they are all very well developed. I even found myself shouting at characters saying OMG what are doing! Then the author got me swearing with the twists and turns that I didn't see coming, that is the effect this story did to me.


Do be warned this is one of those books that you won't get anything done until you have finished it, I honestly couldn't put this down. I lost track of how many times my kindle came with me just to a make a cup of tea, so I could read at the same time. Just one more chapter I kept telling myself, then before I knew it I had devoured it in one day.


This is without a doubt the best Psychological thriller I have read this year.


If you are looking for a fast paced engaging read this is the book for which I highly recommend giving it 5 massive stars.

UK πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ http://amzn.to/2mm2eKS
US πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ http://amzn.to/2m2teNU
About the author
Jess Ryder is the pseudonym of Jan Page, author, screenwriter, playwright and award-winning television producer.  After many years working in children's media, she has recently embarked on a life of crime.  Writing, that is.   So she's very excited about the publication of her debut thriller Lie to Me.  Her other big love is making pots.

No comments:

Post a Comment