21 March 2017

Mystery of Maplemead Castle by Kitty French ~~~Blog Tour~~~

I am thrilled to be hosting Mystery of Maplemead Castle blog tour today. Not only have I got a Q&A with Kitty you all also find my review at the bottom….. So keep on reading guys.





Can you tell us a little about yourself and background?
I’m a forty-something mum of two boys from the Black Country. My life is a whirl of school jumpers, packed lunches and after-school clubs at the moment and I wouldn’t have it any other way!


When did you know that you wanted to become a writer? and how did you go about it
I can’t remember a time when I didn’t want to write; I still have the Mills & Boon tip sheet and cassette tape I sent away for when I was fourteen!


As with many people and their dream, real life got in the way. It was only when I left work to have my first child that I actually put pen to paper and started to write. I entered the Mills & Boon annual writing competition in 2009 and came second, which meant I got to work with an editor on the book I’d submitted. That sealed the deal, really - I was bitten by the bug. In the end I didn’t write for Mills and Boon, but I knew enough to know it was the thing for me.


Can you tell us what genre your books are and the audience you write for?
My books are all romance of different sub-genres. My latest, Mystery and Maplemead Castle, is the second of The Chapelwick Mysteries, a screwball romantic comedy series with ghosts, cake fetishists and sexy reporters! At it’s heart it is traditional romantic comedy, quite fast paced and emotional and hopefully funny to boot.


What is your writing process? and how long does it take?
I’d love to be someone who plots, but I’m afraid I’m a 'fly by the seat of my pants' writer, which is far scarier! I have a vague outline, usually a starting and finishing point, but what happens to link the two is an organic process. I try to to write between two and four thousands words a day, three is my happy place.


Are your characters based on anyone you know or are they just fictional?
All fictional! Obviously I draw inspiration from people around me and from TV, but my characters are all out of my head. I especially like writing series because you get the chance to develop and deepen characters - I’ve written two Melody Bittersweet books now and I feel as if she’s one of my best friends!


Have you wrote about a personal experience in your novels?
I don’t think so! All of my books are informed by my own life experiences, it’s unavoidable that you sprinkle bits of yourself in, but nothing specific.


What research do you do?
It depends. The Chapelwick mysteries have a paranormal element to them so I’ve taken care around that issue, google is my best friend. I don’t know how people survived with it! Much of my writing is relationship based though, so it’s more emotional that research based


Who would you like to co-write with and why?
My fantasy would be Janet Evanovich. I love, love, love everything she’s done.


What's your favorite book?
I’m going to repeat myself and choose Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. I love Charlaine Harris too. Oh, and I have to mention ‘My Family & Other Animals’ by Gerald Durrell, forever my go-to book when I need to escape.


What's your favorite food?
Does gin count as a food group?


What's your favorite film?
I’m a sucker for a romance, so I’ll choose The Holiday or Moonstruck, but for those days when only an action movie will do, I’m a Con-Air girl.


What's your favorite song?
I don’t think I have one. I’m a big Nashville fan though, so something modern-country.


How can readers find out more information about yourself and your books?
I’m always around on Facebook and Twitter, or my website is www.kittyfrench.com.



Mystery of Maplemead Castle


Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate pecan cookies come with a helping of sabotage.

Maplemead Castle is crawling with ghosts, and the new owners need them gone. When Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency arrive on scene, they quickly identify the troublemakers swinging from the chandeliers… literally.

A century ago, stunning trapeze artist Britannia Lovell plunged to her death, and has done every night since. But did she really just fall, or was there something more to her demise?

Forced to work with Leo Dark, her scoundrel ex, and infuriating, irresistible reporter Fletcher Gunn, Melody’s investigative powers are under strain (i.e. lost in a pink mist of lust and confusion). She needs her team on top form, but best friend Marina’s cake pipeline goes AWOL, assistant Artie’s distracted by a giant sausage roll, and the pug is scared witless by a lion.

Somewhere, hidden in the castle, is a heart-breaking secret, but what will it take to find it? And is there a chance it could set Britannia free, or is she doomed to repeat her last fateful act forever?

An utterly hilarious, gripping, spooktastic read for fans of HY Hanna, MC Beaton, Gina LaManna and Jana DeLeon.


My Thoughts


This is the second book in the Chapelwick Mysteries series which I absolutely loved so you can imagine my excitement when I heard Kitty had written a second one. I  couldn't wait to get on my hands on it. It’s not very often I come from over the dark side but this series is pure magic!

In this story Melody and her team are at Maplemead castle which is crawling with ghosts and the new owners need them gone. A century ago, stunning trapeze artist Britannia Lovell plunged to her death, and has done every night since. But did she really just fall, or was there something more to her demise? Forced to work with Leo Dark, her scoundrel ex, and infuriating, irresistible reporter Fletcher Gun. Somewhere, hidden in the castle, is a heart-breaking secret, but what will it take to find it? And is there a chance it could set Britannia free, or is she doomed to repeat her last fateful act forever?

Even though this is the second book in the series it can easily be read has a standalone. The story is full of likable characters. And Melody is just brilliant she is fun and quirky.

I loved the setting for this story and Kitty has wrote a story that isn't just a laugh out loud entertaining read it is freaky hilarious. Even my children kept asking me what was so funny. Devouring this in a day I couldn't put it down. It is certainly a page turner.

If you are looking for a fun book then this is the one for you. Which I highly recommend giving it 5 stars.






UK πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ http://amzn.to/2kQqows
US πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ http://amzn.to/2kd2Qjp

No comments:

Post a Comment