28 January 2016

Exposure by Helen Dunmore

ExposureExposure by Helen Dunmore
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was very excited to receive a copy of Exposure by Helen Dunmore being a fan of Helen's books she never fails to disappoint. I have to say what a brilliant spy/mystery story this is. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

This book starts off in London, November, 1960 where the Cold War is at its height. Giles asks simon to collect the file and take it to his office. Then the file goes missing simon is accused of passing information to the soviets and finds himself arrested and sent to prison. His wife, Lily, suspects that his imprisonment is part of a cover-up, and that more powerful men than Simon will do anything to prevent their own downfall. She knows that she too is in danger, and must fight to protect her children. But what she does not realise is that Simon has hidden vital truths about his past, and may be found guilty of another crime that carries with it an even greater penalty.

Exposure is very well written and kept my attention throughout the book. The characters are very likeable and believable. I especially liked lily. I totally felt for her while she kept it together to protect her children and being a mom myself I could relate to her.

The is a steady paced spy novel unraveling the mystery of the missing file, This isn't my normal everyday read but nevertheless it was a very enjoyable one.

If you're looking for an interesting and gripping spy story then this is the book for you.

Thank you to Random House and Netgalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review

View all my reviews

Last Prophecy of Rome by Iain King

Last Prophecy of Rome (Myles Munro #2)Last Prophecy of Rome by Iain King
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

OMG I can not begin to tell you how fantastic The Last Prophecy Of Rome is. This is actually my first book that I have read by Iain King and definitely won't be my last. This is the pre sequel to Secrets of the Last Nazi, so in my opinion it doesn't matter which way round you read Iain's books. having not read Iain's first publication of the Myles Munro action thriller series. First of all I have to say what a brilliant vibrant cover this book has it really suits the story.

This book kept me highly entertained for two evenings it is so action packed you will not believe it. Myles Munro is on holiday in rome with girlfriend and journalist Helen Bridle. He’s convinced a bomb is about to be detonated at the American Embassy. Then the action starts with a delivery van hurtling through Wall Street in New york when BOOM, showering the sky with a chilling message that America is about to be brought down like the Roman Empire. And Juma an African warlord who is set free by the Arab Spring, plans to make it happen. A US Senator is then taken hostage, Myles finds himself caught in a race against time to stop Juma. Sounds a lot going on but for me this is what made the story. The chapters are titled with the citie and found this very easy to follow with it jumping back and forth to the different cities. Iain's writing skills are magnificent. I actually felt like I was right there with Myles on his adventure.

This book starts off with a bang and had me totally gripped. Myles goes through one hell of a rollercoaster journey where I found myself on the edge of the seat willing him along. The story just got better and better. I loved the hint of romance that was added to the story what a lovely couple Helen and Myles are. And without giving anything away I have to say what an ending I was totally blown away and found myself on the edge of my seat hyperventilating. This book is most definitely going to stay with me for a very long time and would love to see it has a movie! I can not wait to read more of Myles action packed adventures.

If you're looking for a gripping, action packed, page turner with lots of twists and turns this is the book for you. It will have you guessing until the very end which I highly recommend giving it a well deserved 5 stars.

Thank you Bookouture and Netgalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review



View all my reviews

Q&A Interview with Iain King


How excited am I that the lovely Iain king has dropped by my blog on his publication day to take part in my Q&A Interview..... So without further ado I would like to welcome Mr Iain King.


Good Morning and Happy Publication Day
Thank you and Good morning I have got a very exciting and busy day ahead of me.

Can you tell us a little about yourself and background?
I’ve worked as a civilian (never a soldier) in about fifteen conflicts and warzones around the world, and spent time at university mulling over philosophy.  I’m married, with two kids, and the day I do the Crime Book Club Author Chat(29th January) I’ll become one year older!

When did you know that you wanted to become a writer? and how did you go about it?
When I was fourteen, in the year of Live Aid, and decided that only written words could make the world a better place. But I think you need to experience the world before you can write about it.

Can you tell us what genre your books are and the audience you write for? 
My fiction books are intelligent thrillers – plenty of action, but with a whodunnit element, a little romance and some amazing facts.  My audience is half-male, half-female, most of them bright people looking for escapism or thrills.

What is your writing process? and how long does it take?
I plan a book slowly, with lots of research, and making sure the plot is both compelling and watertight.  Then I write the first draft really quickly, drinking lots of coffee – I write night scenes in the dark, and only write ‘feel good’ scenes when I’m happy. Then I review it slowly, checking every sentence, paragraph and chapter is the best it can be, going through it many times.  Each book takes about 18 months, from start to finish.


Are your characters based on anyone you know or are they just fictional?
All my characters have personality traits I’ve seen in real people, but there’s never a one-to-one match.  I exaggerate the traits, too, so the characters are more exciting.  

Have you written about a personal experience in your novels?
Yes, and I’ve visited most of the places I write about, too.  But they’re not autobiographical.  Therapy, maybe…

What research do you do?
I read several non-fiction books on the main theme of a book while I’m planning it, try to visit the location of major scenes, and use the internet to check minor points.  My fiction books need almost as much research as the non-fiction books I’ve done.

Who would you like to co-write with and why?
I know it sounds glib, but I’d love to co-write with each one of my readers.  It would help me get inside their heads, and I think it won’t be long before technology makes it possible.  

What's your favorite book?
Whatever I’m reading to my children that night.

What's your favorite food?
Salad with a spicy dressing.

What's your favorite film?
‘Where Eagles Dare’

What's your favorite song?
Dear Prudence’, the Siouxsie and the Banshees version.

How can readers find out more information about yourself and your books?
My webpage is www.iainbking.com, and I’ve got a brand new author page on facebook - https://www.facebook.com/iainkingsbooks.  Come and say hello!

Thank you Iain for joining me today, I hope you have a wonderful day
Thank you I have really enjoyed it and I am looking forward to my author chat tomorrow.

27 January 2016

Q&A interview with Angela Marsons





I am very excited to welcome the one and only Angela Marsons to my blog page after reading all 3 of Angela's Kim Stone series which have been published in  just one year. Angela has kindly offered to take part in my Q&A Interview.... So without further ado here is Angela  Marsons


Good morning and welcome to my blog Angela
Good morning and thank you for having me.

Can you tell us a little about yourself and background?
I am 48 years of age and was born and raised in the Black Country.  My long-term partner, Julie and I have a bouncy, diva Labrador and a parrot that likes to swear. I have no idea where he gets it from, Ahem......  I didn't go to college choosing to go straight to work and I worked at Merry Hill shopping centre for 19 years. 

When did you know that you wanted to become a writer? and how did you go about it?
I always enjoyed exploring my emotions by writing things down and analysing them.  I loved the process of putting one word in front of the other to paint a picture.  I was around twelve when my English teacher gave me a couple of Andrea Newman books to read and that was when I knew I wanted to write books.  I never imagined that it was a possibility so I wrote many years for myself simply for the enjoyment and only started submitting short stories when I was in my twenties 

Can you tell us what genre your books are and the audience you write for? 
I write crime/thriller books based in the Black Country.  The books follow the same lead character of DI Kim Stone but are all stand alone stories.  I am slowly learning that my audience has no boundaries as just yesterday I received a message from an 87 year old man who felt compelled to write his first ever email after reading Silent Scream.  And today I received a message from a lovely lady who, together with her 15 year old daughter have been listening to the audio book of Lost Girls together in the car. 

What is your writing process? and how long does it take?
I start with a rough idea of where I want the story to go. I don't plan too much as I like to leave room for the story to grow organically which has given me more than one surprise, especially when characters start to act up.  In Silent Scream Kim was never going to climb that fence of the old Children's home but once I was writing the chapter I knew that's what she would do.  I write the first draft by hand with pencils and A4 notepads.  This is where I can write whatever I like without the critic on my shoulder.  It's my sandpit.  Draft two goes on to the computer and is the most brutal part.  Entire plot lines and characters are discarded.  Draft three is tidying it all up before sending off for the first edit.  That part of the process takes 3 to 4 months. 

Are your characters based on anyone you know or are they just fictional?
My characters are definitely fictional but I like to think that all the people I've met over the years are in there somewhere like a giant mixing bowl - a look from this person, a gesture from this person, a funny line from another person.  So I think bits of people are scattered throughout the books.

Have you wrote about a personal experience in your novels?
I've not really written about a personal experience but I do tend to cover subjects that are important to me.  I feel very strongly about bullying which tends to come up often and I am passionate about people with physical and psychological challenges not being underestimated and discounted.

What research do you do?
I read lots and lots of factual books.  My Christmas list is always factual books.  The 'orders placed' section of my partner's Amazon account must be on some kind of government watch list by now.  I use the internet frequently and am a big user of Wikipedia.  In recent months I've had experts in various fields contact me and offer their 'unofficial' services too which has been very helpful.

Who would you like to co-write with and why?
I would like to co-write with Aaron Sorkin who wrote the screenplay of my favourite film and is also responsible for the first four series of The West Wing.  His writing is so tight.  There is not one sentence that is wasted and every word serves to move the story forward or add characterisation.  His skill in combining drama, emotion, action and humour is incredible.

What's your favorite book?
Disclosure by Michael Crichton 

What's your favorite food?
Pizza

 What's your favorite film?
 A few Good Men - screenplay by Aaron Sorkin

What's your favorite song?
Tainted Love by Soft Cell

How can readers find out more information about yourself and your books?
http://angelamarsons-books.com/
https://www.facebook.com/AngelaMarsonsAuthor/?fref=ts

Thank you Angela so much for taking time out to do this interview 
Thank you for asking me.It was great fun and I really enjoyed it.



24 January 2016

Down Solo by Earl Javorsky

Down SoloDown Solo by Earl Javorsky
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is Earl Javorsky debut novel and wow what an enjoyable one it is to. I was hooked from the first chapter. I actually found myself smiling and saying to myself wow this is different!

In the opening chapter we find Charlie Miner waking up in a Los angeles mortuary with a bullet hole in his head,seriously how original is that?! well this left me wanting more I was so intrigued I just kept on reading. Before charlie ended up dead he was investigating a case involving fraud. So he continues with this case and retraces his steps to find out how he ended up dead. We are taken from Santa Monica to south of Ensenada, Mexico, where Charlie has some scores to settle and hunts down the kidnapper of his daughter Mindy.

I love the style of Earls writing and descriptions. We get to know charlie very quickly and for me he is a very likeable character. This is a crime detective mystery with a twist of paranormal. being a fan of paranormal i absolutely loved the whole idea of this story. This is one gripping read full of action, and also family values. This is most definitely a very quirky page turner.

For me I am giving Down Solo 4 stars which i highly recommend it for fans of crime and paranormal. I am looking forward to reading more books by this author.

Thank you to the author Earl Javorsky for a copy of this book in exchange for a honest review






View all my reviews

22 January 2016

That's What Friends Are For by Marcie Steele

That's What Friends Are ForThat's What Friends Are For by Marcie Steele
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is my first book by Mel Sherratt writing has alter ego Marcie Steele and definitely won't be my last. I am a big fan of Mel Sherratt crime books and the estate series. But I have to say this book is such a refreshing change I absolutely loved it.

I love the author's style of writing I found this an easy and gripping read. I was hooked from the start and read this in one sitting. I simply couldn't put it down. The characters are very real and likeable in which you can relate to. What I loved about this story is the fact its very real life with characters you can most definitely relate to. Its not your normal mushy, lovey dovey chick lit although there is romance in there. This book is about friendship, family and secrets which takes you on a rollercoaster journey, with some added surprises which I totally wasn't expecting. The characters are very well written And I could see them being my friends. has they are very down to earth.

Sam and Louise have been friends since primary school and tell each other everything or so they think! We soon find out that they are keeping things from each other.
This book has got quite a few characters in it having there own story and problems I especially enjoyed Louise's daughter, I5 year old Charley. Her story pulled at my heartstrings I felt so sorry for her.

Over all I found this a every entertaining and engaging read and I highly recommend it giving it a well deserved 5 stars. i can cant wait to read book of Marcie Steele books.

Thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for a copy In exchange for a honest review




View all my reviews

Q&A interview with Alan Jones

I would like to welcome Alan Jones author of  The Cabinetmaker and Blue Wicked to my blog page. Alan has kindly offered to take part in my Q&A Interview.... So without further ado here is Alan Jones


Can you tell us a little about yourself and background Please?
I can't give away too much detail about myself due to my need to keep my real identity hidden. I'm not sure some of my clients would appreciate the seriously dark and gritty nature of my writing, and it wouldn't be fair to the others in our company if my books were to have an adverse effect on our customers.
I can say that I'm married, on the top side of fifty with grown up children. I was born and raised in Glasgow but I now live and work on the Ayrshire coast. I work in the animal health industry. I have a forty year old sailing boat which I use to explore the west coast of Scotland and the Irish sea in summer. I've been forced to retire from football but I still make furniture in my spare time. I love reading, watching films, cooking and I try to play a bit of golf, badly.

When did you know that you wanted to become a writer? and how did you go about it?
I've always been an avid reader since a very early age. My parents never had a TV, so reading was my entertainment - I used to read a book a day until I was in my early twenties. Since then, work and other commitments have reduced that significantly, but I still love to read. At school, English was one of my worst subjects and I hated the way they made us dissect a book, but creative writing was my saving grace which allowed me to get the English Higher that needed to get into university (along with maths and sciences, which were easy by comparison!)
I didn't really seriously consider writing until about fifteen years ago, although I had always had a vague notion to write at the back of my mind. I read a particularly disappointing series of books that year and thought to myself that I could do better, but it proved to be harder than I imagined.
After a number of false starts and a variety of different plot ideas that never got off the ground, I started writing and planning seriously when the story that eventually became The Cabinetmaker began to gel in my head, but there were long periods when I didn't quite believe that I could do it and the project lay dormant.
I'd started refurbishing old furniture and making new pieces from recycled wood when I first got married because I could pick up stuff that was being thrown out and turn it into some really cool bits of furniture with very little outlay other than my own time. I read a lot about skills and techniques and taught myself as I went on and I was lucky to come across craftsmen in the rural places we stayed who recognised my passion for cabinetry and helped with advice and free tuition in return for a helping hand with tasks from time to time. Eventually I built my own workshop but I've had a chance over the years to work with really amazing craftsmen, learning about the other aspects of being a furniture maker.
Taking inspiration from that, the story slowly began to wind itself around the central pillar of a cabinetmaker who tries to do his best to get justice for his son when he's murdered, and the killers walk free. I wanted to write about the relationship between the cabinetmaker and one of the young detectives on the case, and because I was also a very keen football player, I saw this as another way for them to interact. I had been brought up in Glasgow, and went to University there, so I knew the city well, and I loved the grit and the humour of the place and its people. It was natural for me to base the story there.

Can you tell us what genre your books are and the audience you write for?
I didn't really start out to write an out -and-out crime book; it was really more of a study of the relationship between the two main characters, with the crime as the focus at the centre of it but it has definitely been received as a crime novel, even if it is slightly more of a slow burner than most crime stories. My second book, Blue Wicked, is firmly in the full-on in-your-face crime story. Naively, when I wrote the first book, I thought that the readership would be 90% men (woodwork\crime\football\swearing etc) so it came as a shock the majority of bloggers who kindly agreed to read and review my book were women. This has been even more marked since I published Blue Wicked, my second book. Having said that, I've never made a conscious decision to write for a particular group of people; I just tell the story as I think it should be told, and hope that it will find enough readers who will like it.

What is your writing process? and how long does it take?
I come up with a central idea and the main character first, and flesh out a rough plot. I then do a detailed timeline, which is added to and edited constantly as I write the book. I hate to admit it, but I do the timeline on a spreadsheet, which seems very unromantic and out of sync with traditional writing, but it has a number of great advantages. I usually make the pivotal point in the book day zero, and I can add or subtract a number of days from that to find out when subsequent or previous events happened. It automatically calculates which date and day of the week each event happens on, so if I put an event in three months ahead, I can adjust it so that it happens on a Friday night, if that's what's needed in the plot.

I don't necessarily write in time order, or book order. I will jump about, writing bits here abd there when the detail comes into my mind, and then go back and fill in the bits that are missing. I find this helps because if I write the 'scene' where the detective solves the case, I can then go back and write the detail of the crime to fit in with the story. It also means that if I'm stuck at a piece of narrative, I can go and write another part of the book. It's surprising how often the problem seems to resolve when I return to the difficult bit.

My first book took about 10 years to write but the last third of it was written in about four weeks - I seemed to get to a certain tipping point and the rest of the story poured out. Blue Wicked only took a year to write and edit. My third book is taking a little longer, because I'm getting slightly side-tracked doing promotional stuff for the first two books at the same time. It's nearly there, though.


Are your characters based on anyone you know or are they just fictional?
I get totally under the skin of all my characters; that's the only way I can write dialogue for them. They are a mixture of bits of me and people I know, have come in contact with, or have read about in newspapers. A few have come from completely nowhere.

Have you wrote about a personal experience in your novels?
For my character's backgrounds, I've used my own experiences to flesh out their lives but having never murdered anyone (I thought I'd better clear that one up), or solved a crime, I've had to rely on talking to others or just using my imagination. One of my relations is a DI in Glasgow and another is a criminal defence lawyer. Having said that, apart from a little background, I tend to write the book then check with them afterwards, to tidy up any glaring errors.

What research do you do?
I mostly write about stuff I know well, but I'll still do a bit of research to check for accuracy, and I also do a bit of timeline research to make sure actual events in my story are correctly timed. I try to use locations I know well, but I'll revisit them to make sure the details are all correct. In the book I am currently writing, a Glasgow man travels to London to try and find his daughter who has gone missing. I don't know London as well as Glasgow, so I used google maps and google earth extensively, along with the amazing street view, which puts you right there, even to the level of being able to go inside pubs and other places. I'll still have to take a trip down to London to double check the locations I've chosen. I'm also looking for someone that knows London really well to read the first draft of the new book, and make any comments on the accuracy and realism of the locations I've used.

Who would you like to co-write with and why?
I don't think I could co-write. I would be a nightmare to work with.

What's your favorite book?
Trainspotting, by Irvine Welsh. Just amazing.

What's your favorite food?
That has to be a curry. Lamb Dhansak with naan bread.

What's your favorite film?
Shawshank just came out on top but Silkwood came close

What's your favorite song?
Again, I'm under pressure here. Ultimately, Teenage Kicks by the Undertones just edged out
The Sex Pistol's Pretty Vacant. I can’t escape my 17 year old self!

How can readers find out more information about yourself and your books?
I have a website for each book:
Each contains four free chapters and an Audio Slang Dictionary for those who aren't completely familiar with the Glasgow dialect.
I regularly post news and comment on twitter @alanjonesbooks
and on my facebook page www.facebook.com/AlanJonesBooks, both of which you can follow.


Thank you Alan so much for taking time out to do this interview. 
Thank you to, I have enjoyed it.

.

18 January 2016

The Theseus Paradox By David Videcette

THE THESEUS PARADOXTHE THESEUS PARADOX by David Videcette
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"I can't tell you the truth, but I can tell you a story..." this quote jumps out at me and left me wanting to know more so after helping the author do a giveaway for this book I thought I had better bump it up my TBR pile to see what all the hype is about. This is David Videocette debut novel and it's a very well written one to. The story starts off on Thursday 7th July 0301 hours Dewsbury West Yorkshire. The chapters are titled with date time and location which I found really helpful and good to follow has the third chapter flicks back to I6 months previously. Has well has a few others through the story but the book is written from the 7th July through to the 17th November.Centred around the london bombings.

I have to say this is a truly original story and nothing like I have ever read before. David's policing experience with the London bombings is show throughout the whole of this story. With the immense detail of the investigation and the story has a whole. And although the London bombings took place 10 years ago it is still to this day a sensitive subject. David's outstanding writing skills show the sensitivity of the story.

This book has took me a little longer than normal to read with it being such a tense read but nevertheless I was gripped from the start and it is most definitely a page turner.

For me Jake Flannagan was a cross between Jack Reacher and the ladies man (not sure if that's the right word to use for him) side of him screamed out James Bond! Boy what a womanizer he is. His working life is totally different though Jake is very dedicated to his job and I did enjoy reading both sides of his character . I do feel there is more to come from Jake in the future as he really needs to sort his head out. I did love Lenny and the work relationship he had with Jake, he did make me giggle.

Without giving anything away........ Wow what an ending this left me wanting more I can not wait to find out what's in store for Jake in David's next book.

The big question is this a story Fiction or is this fact? grab yourself a copy and you decide.
I highly recommend this book giving it 5 stars.

Thank you to David Videcette for a copy in exchange for a honest review.








View all my reviews

14 January 2016

Holding out for a Hero by Victoria Van Tiem

Holding out for a HeroHolding out for a Hero by Victoria Van Tiem
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

If you're a fan of the eighties like myself you are going to love holding out for an hero. I was drawn to this book by the Title holding out for a hero by bonnie tyler is just an epic and all time favourite song of mine. I have to say this is my first book by victoria van tiem and definitely won't be my last. I absolutely loved it and laughed from start to finish.

Libby london lives her life though the eighties this is the decade libby fell in love and its holding her back from life and love or so her friends think. With Libby's 33rd birthday approaching so they decide to stage an #80sIntervention to get Libby up to date. To start with I was actually questioning why her friends would want Libby to change but we learn that its because they care and want libby to be happy. This book has got eighties decade written all over it. With Libby owning a Vintage shop selling all kinds of memorabilia such has music and clothes,which she also wore. The idea of the intervention is to give libby a makeover and for her to go on dates with a series of different dates, which surprisingly Libby agrees to I was crying with laughter when libby woke up at Jaspers it really did crack me up.

I loved how the chapters are titles of eighties records and movies this really did take me back in time. This is a fun and witty chick lit with lots of out loud scenes. I read this in two sitting the author's writing kept me wanting more. I am looking forward to reading more of Victoria's books

If you're looking for a fun. laugh out loud chit lit this is the book for you which I highly recommend and I am giving it 4 stars.

Thank you to Macmillan and netgalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review



View all my reviews

Wickham Hall By Cathy Bramley

Wickham HallWickham Hall by Cathy Bramley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was thrilled to bits to receive an ARC of Wickham Hall by Cathy Bramley. And what a lovely, heartwarming book this is I absolutely loved it and devoured it in one day. For me this is most definitely a snuggle on the sofa with a cuppa on a cold winters day book. First of all i have to say what a beautiful cover it's got buy me written all over it I just want to jump in the cover!

Wickham hall is broken up into four parts. The first one being Hidden treasures, Summer secrets, Fireworks, and White Christmas the story starts off with Holly heading to an interview as events co-ordinator at Wickham Hall which sits in the heart of the village where Holly grew up. I was hooked from the start Holly is a genuine down to earth witty person head strong career driven woman. Who is in her element when she lands her dream job I could totally relate to her has I read more of the story the more I loved Holly and her passion for Wickham Hall. I mean seriously who wouldn’t?! There is nothing not to like about her. I would love a Ben in my life hes just a dream boat. In fact all of the characters in this book are lovely in the own individual way. I loved the different relationships Holly had with each character and she is always positive. Holly did make me giggle. The characters and story simply flow. This what I would call an easy read with some nicely added surprises. Which I am not going to say to much has I don’t want to give the story away.

Cathy's writing is so picturesque and beautifully written. I felt like I was there at Wickham hall with Holly inside and outside of the building. The tiny detail of the brick work and flower buds are amazing.

This book is full lots of laugh out loud scenes and well has touching scenes that pull on your heartstrings. This wonderful unique story shows that dreams do come true.

This is a fun, light-hearted read and most definitely a page turner about love, friendships and families. Which I highly recommend I can not tell you enough how amazing this story is. This is an easy 5 stars from me and I am looking forward to reading more of Cathy’s books.

I would also like to say Cathy Bramley for a copy of Wickham hall it was lovely to meet you.



View all my reviews

11 January 2016

The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood

The Darkest SecretThe Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First of all I don't know where to start with this review this is actually my third book by Alex Marwood after reading The Wicked Girls which I totally loved and The Neighbour Next Door. I was so excited to see Alex had a new book out. I have to say I love the title that's just a statement of its own and also the cover. Its got buy me written all over it judging by the cover. But unfortunately I found this book really hard going at times and for me it didn't live up to The Wicked Girls.

The book starts off with police statements which grabs you from the start then I started to get lost with the flicking back and forth from the past to the present and the different characters it get a bit confusing. But eventually the story had built up enough for me to guess who killed Coco so I was more intrigued to know whether I had guessed right. But although I did guess right there was more to the plot than I thought which I enjoyed.

This book is about identical twin 3 year old Coco Jackson who goes missing on a holiday in Bournemouth 12 years ago. And is written over two intense weekends. First when Coco goes missing and the second twelve years later at the funeral of her father. this book is full of lies and dark secrets. I have to say the adults in this book aren't the nicest people they will make your skin crawl.

But overall I do think its a good plot, but for me I like a book more faster paced. Maybe I compared this book to the Wicked Girls to much. But never the less it was a good read. And we all have our own opinion but for me this is a 3.5 stars

I would like to say a big thankyou the publisher, Sphere and NetGalley for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.



View all my reviews

4 January 2016

You Belong To Me by Samantha Hayes

You Belong To MeYou Belong To Me by Samantha Hayes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

You belong To Me is my first book that I have read by Samantha Hayes having read lots of fab reviews about it, I couldn't wait to get stuck in to in.

I read this in two sittings and was totally gripped from the beginning. I liked how the book is written from several points of view Firstly D.I. Lorraine Fisher who struggling with her job, stress and anxiety then Isabel who falls in love with Felix last but not least Felix. Then has the story unfolds it all becomes one.

Isabel left England to escape her past and for the first time in months, she's beginning to feel safe. But then a letter shatters her world once more as she learns of her parents' death in a car crash. she returns home with the feeling or being watched.

I really enjoyed the story with some great twists and turns I was guessing until the very end which i love in a psychological thriller. But for me there was something missing. Although i have to admit not knowing there is more books in this series, I would have most definitely enjoyed this more and known more of D.I Lorraine Fisher's character. But I can tell you this is not recommended as a standalone novel so I did learnt that. So I am giving this book 4 stars

Overall I did find it a page turner and I highly recommend it to fans of Samantha Hayes i am looking forward to starting this series from the beginning Also thank you to Netgalley and Century for a copy of this in return for an honest review






View all my reviews

3 January 2016

Conditional Love by Cathy Bramley

Conditional LoveConditional Love by Cathy Bramley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Conditional love is my first book by Cathy Bramley and definitely won't be my last. I absolutely loved it and devoured it in one day.

Sophie Stone is sharing a flat with her two best mates then she gets dumped by boyfriend marc who is a loser, her life doesn't seem to be going anywhere in a hurry until she receives an unexpected inheritance of a bungalow from a great aunt, but there’s a catch, as stated in her great aunt’s will, she’s to receive them only if she meets her father. Sophie also meets Nottingham architect Nick Cromwell. I really enjoyed the relationship between them.

This book is a very enjoyable light heart read with lots of laugh out loud scenes.I found it very entertaining Sophie character grows throughout the book has the months go by and the obstacles Sophie goes through but you just can't help but like her. She just wants to be happy at the end of the day like all of us. Cathy's writing is wonderful and I could totally engage with the characters they all had their own uniqueness about them.

If you're looking for a fun light easy read I highly recommend this book and thank you to the Cathy Bramley for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.



View all my reviews

Blue Wicked by Alan Jones

Blue WickedBlue Wicked by Alan Jones
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is my first book by Alan jones and most certainly won't be my last. Blue wicked has definitely got the WOW factor for me this is what I call an excellent crime book.

Eddie Henderson is a vet investigating the death of cats in Glasgow. When bodies start showing up Eddie knows it has to be all related. Then young detective constable Catherine Douglas puts her career on the line and gets involved after the police ignore his warnings.

I must say this book is not for the faint hearted as it is very graphic and what I would call hardcore. But nevertheless this is what I really liked about it. Being a fan of horror novels as well as crime i feel it really worked well together with the dark and gruesome scenes. But the opening scene is very dark and gritty and may put animal lovers off. Please bare in mind I have two cats and it didn't put me off in the slightest. But rest assure this book is well worth reading has it does move quickly onto human deaths. It is most definitely a gripping page turner I was hooked from the start and couldn't put it down.

Blue wicked is very well crafted I can actually see this being made into a film and a good film it would make to. The author has described the characters very well Eddie is a very complex character who is very good at his job and I love the relationship between him and Catherine has they make a good team and I am looking forward to seeing more of them in the future maybe?

If you are looking for something original that you can get your teeth into this is the book for you I highly recommend this giving it a well deserved 5 stars

I would also like to say a massive thank you to the author Alan Jones for a copy of this in exchange for an honest review.





View all my reviews

Kitty's Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow

Kitty's Countryside Dream: A feel good romantic comedy about life, love and family.Kitty's Countryside Dream: A feel good romantic comedy about life, love and family. by Christie Barlow
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Omg this is my first book that I have read by Christie Barlow and definitely won't be my last. I absolutely loved it.

This is a fresh and original romantic comedy about a New home, New life and New beginning. Where Kitty Lewis inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother and begins her new life on her chicken farm, which made me laugh has I used to have chickens and didn't have a clue what to do with them. And then Kitty meets hottie next door neighbour Tom who gives a helping hand. Just has kitty starts finds finding her feet and begins to settle with her new life she discovers a diary written by Violet. But who is Violet and what secrets does she hold? Then Kitty's rollercoaster journey begins. This book is full of lots of hilarious laugh out loud scenes and emotional ones to. Which actually brought tears to my eyes, so you might need some tissues at hand for this incredible story.

This story of wrote from Kitty's point of view so we get a feel for her character straight away and to be totally honest there is nothing not to like about Kitty's Countryside Dream.Christie has done a fantastic job of making the characters in this story are very likeable and believable I actually felt like I was there with them all the way has there friends. This is such a fun read with some nicely added twists in there which I wasn't expecting at all and kept my attention. Has I do like that in a book.

I have to say I love the cover it's eye catching,bright and vibrant and fits kitty's countryside dream beautifully. This is well worth Five stars if not more I just couldn't put it down. If your looking for a fun, light hearted, enjoyable easy read about life, love and families then this is the book for you. I am looking forward to reading more of Christie Barlow's books

I would also like to say a massive thank you to Bookouture and to Netgalley for an ARC copy of this book.






View all my reviews