18 April 2016

THE SECOND CHANCE SHOE SHOP BY MARCIE STEELE BLOG TOUR

I am thrilled to be hosting The Second Chance Shoe Shop blog tour today. Not only have I got a Q&A with Marcie you all also find my review at the bottom….. So keep on reading guys.


Can you tell us a little about yourself and background?
I’ve been a published author for four years now, but I’ve been writing since I was a child in some form or other. I started writing short stories in my teens (never getting any published, though!) and then I started trying to write a book. Stirred with Love was penned in 1999. I tried for twelve years to get a publishing deal, writing a few novels that went in the bottom drawer. Then I decided to self-publish and thankfully that worked.


Since then, I’ve written lots more books. Marcie Steele is my pen name. I also write psychological crime thrillers under my own name, Mel Sherratt. So I’m just about to start writing book number twelve.


When did you know that you wanted to become a writer, and how did you go about it?
I’ve always wanted to write for as long as I can remember. I read every ‘how-to write’ book I could get my hands on. Then I read a lot of books in the genre I wanted to write in. And then I started to write. I must have deleted hundreds of thousands of words over the years, cutting them and adding new ones as I honed my writing. It’s something that gets better the more you do it. You just have to keep at it.


Can you tell us what genre your books are and the audience you write for? 
I write contemporary women’s fiction. My books can be read by anyone as they are about friendship and love. My characters are women of all ages, from fifteen to sixty-nine, so far.


What is your writing process? and how long does it take?
I try to write or edit 2000 words first thing every morning when I’m fresh. There’s never a time when I’m not working on two at a time. If I’m writing one, I’m usually editing another and vice versa. So to fit it all in, If I’m editing, I’ll then continue editing for the rest of the day. If I’m drafting a book, I’ll add more to the 2000.


It takes about four-six months. That’s writing a first draft and then doing several rounds of edits before I’m happy for anyone else to see it. So the first draft I send off is usually my fourth or fifth draft.  


Are your characters based on anyone you know or are they just fictional?
No, they are all fictional. I reckon you might find parts of me in some of them though…


Have you wrote about a personal experience in your novels?
No, but there are a few anecdotes of mine in some of my books. For instance, memories of nights out and holidays.


What research do you do?
I do minimal research for my storylines – just enough to be able to write out the plots. I used to do a lot but as I often cut out plot lines, I found it a waste of time. So I now get the story down first and then if I need to do any more research, I’ll do it at the end.


Who would you like to co-write with and why?


As Marcie, it would have to be Marian Keyes. I adore her style and her humour flies off the page. I think we would blend well together – hint, hint. I’m appearing at London Book Fair in April and she is there for the day. I am determined to search her out and try to say hello without gushing – I know she likes her shoes as much as I do... She’s been such an inspiration to me, I know I will go to pieces if I do meet her.


What’s your favorite book?
Bridget Jones’s Diary – a very close tie with Sushi for Beginners which is my favourite of Marian’s.


What’s your favorite food?
Spaghetti bolognaise


What’s your favorite film?
Dirty Dancing – no one puts baby in the corner.


What’s your favorite song?
Ooh, that’s a tricky one… probably an old favourite of mine, Somebody Else’s Guy – Jocelyn Brown.


How can readers find out more information about yourself and your books?
Facebook
blog
Twitter
website
Facebook
Twitter




The book

All Riley Flynn wants is to meet someone who makes her happy. But attracting the right kind of man is not easy, and with her heart still hurting from her last break-up, Riley believes she’ll never find love again.


A year ago, Sadie Stewart’s whole world was shattered when her husband, Ross, died. She has struggled to keep herself together for the sake of their young daughter, but with the anniversary of his death approaching, Sadie finds herself overwhelmed by grief.


Sadie and Riley work at Chandlers shoe shop, in the charming town of Hedworth. But when Chandlers is threatened with closure, the friends are confronted with the loss of not only their jobs, but also their support network - the glue that holds them together when they are close to breaking.


As they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, Sadie realises that she might just be learning to live again. Could it be that new beginnings are just round the corner? The campaign also finds Riley unexpectedly crossing paths with charming photographer, Ethan. Maybe her second chance at love is right under her feet …

A delightfully romantic tale of love, friendship and putting your best foot forward, for fans of Carole Matthews and Amanda Prowse.

My thoughts



This is my second book by Marcie Steele which once again I absolutely loved. I love how adaptable Mel/Marcie is with her books being a crime writer to a heart warming pull at your heartstrings story. Both totally opposite genres but never she fails to disappoint.

This story takes us to the town of Hedworth where we meet Sadie and Riley who work at Chandler's shoe shop. Sadie is going through an emotional time with the anniversary of her husband's death approach. Then Riley is having a hard time with men after having her heart broken by the last one she just attracts the wrong ones. All she wants is what everyone wants, and that is to be happy. Chandlers is threatened with a closure but that have a plan to save it with an #shoelove campaign on twitter  for people to showcase their favourite shoes to save the shop.( I love the fact this competition is actually happening on twitter.) The campaign introduces us to photographer Ethan maybe this is Riley's second chance at love. While Sadie is starting to live again.


Well I have to say this story took me right back to the days when I worked in a shoe shop, even the uniform was the same has mine. I felt like I was right there with Riley and Sadie. Who are likeable and realistic characters that I could relate to.Oh and I especially loved the character Kim Nash I did giggle. There are lots of laugh out loud moments in this story. As Well as emotional ones, yes guys you will need your tissues handy for this one. This story takes you on an incredible  journey between two friends. And I read this book in one day simply couldn't put it down.


All you Mel Sherratt/Marcie Steele fans are in for a treat with this refreshing, beautiful heart warming, feel good story. Which I highly recommend giving it a well deserved 5 stars.


No comments:

Post a Comment