28 December 2015

Miss FortuneMiss Fortune by Albina Hume
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow what a brilliant memoir, I absolutely loved it. I read this in one afternoon I simply couldn't put it down. This is a very gripping, powerful and interesting story about Albina's journey from a child to where she is now and how she got there.

The prologue starts off with Albina waiting for her wedding invitations where she is to marry John Hume in July. We get an insight to Albina's life peaceful and happy life now with the look at the rhino ranch. Then we are taken back to Albina's childhood where her Journey begins in a small village in Ukraine where she is born and how she struggled through life in her teens. Then to a night life in greece to where South Africa where she is now. This memoir takes you through a rollercoaster of events the adventures Albina went through are shocking and left me feeling that emotional it brought tears to my eyes! yes you might need some tissues for this read. There are scenes which also made me feel anxious willing her along. Albina went through a lot of unfortunate events but never gave up. This lady is living proof that there is light at the end of the tunnel and you have to go through a lot of hard work and bravery to get what you want in life. And also meeting dishonest people that Albina thought she could trust along the way to find love and happiness.

With english being Albina's third language this book is very well written and easy to read. The descriptions of the places she went to are that well described I felt like I was actually there with her. This book is most definitely a refreshing change and shows that "dreams do come true"

I highly recommend this giving it 5 stars. And I would like to thank the author Albina Holmes for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review,who really is are a true inspiration.





View all my reviews

22 December 2015

No More Birthdays by Lissa Pelzer

No More BirthdaysNo More Birthdays by Lissa Pelzer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow!! I can not believe this is Lissa Pelzer's debut novel this is the first book in the Carol Ann Baker series ( who shares the same middle and end names has me by the way) And what a page turner it is to, I devoured this in one sitting I just couldn't put it down.

Runaway teenager Lilly Lessard is the main character who has some secrets. First of all that's not her real name. And she keeps her age very low key.Then lilly tracks her ex-hitman Bobby down. after he owes her money.but she’s not the only one who’s followed Bobby. Detective Davis has been after him in Miami for years. but the closer lilly gets to him the closer Davis is to. Lilly goes through a rollercoaster of events to save her skin which will leaving you feeling sorry for her and routing for her at the same time. She won't stop until she has her money.

Everyone that knows me knows I have an eye for book covers and I would never of picked this book up from looking at the cover of the kindle version. I do prefer the paperback cover. But has the saying goes never judge a book by its cover, how true is that in this case.

Lissa has written this brilliantly with some touchy scenes involving pedofile rings.I could actually feel the sensitivity in her writing and the characters are well described and believable. This book is one not to be missed its full of crime action murder and deceit. And best of all its left on a cliffhanger. yes don't you just love a cliffhanger?! I was like OMG... No Way. So now I am hanging on waiting for the next one in the series to find out what happens.

So if you're looking for a faced paced, gripping story with lots of twists and turns then this is the book for you. I am giving this 5 massive stars I highly recommend it.

I would also like to thank the author Lissa Pelzer for a copy of this debut novel in return for an honest review.


View all my reviews

19 December 2015

Ordinary Joe by Jon Teckman

Ordinary JoeOrdinary Joe by Jon Teckman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ordinary Joe is most definitely an original story and I have read a few film books in my time. I really did enjoy this book.

Joe west an account is a very ordinary guy, over weight, married with two kids who works in the film industry. until he beds film actress Olivia Finch. But who wouldn't bed a movie star, if you had the chance?! Joe goes through a series of nightmare events after digging himself a hole and trying to get out of it. Then there is bennett who denies sleeping with Olivia after she keeps sending him emails and texts. But no one believes him with his track record. But Olivia unknown to her is pestering the wrong guy.

The characters are very well written and realistic everyday people and you get to know them very quickly. I do really like Jon's writing style. I couldn't help but feel sorry for Joe even though he did the unforgivable.

I read this book in two sittings and to be honest I didn't actually know where this book was going but then it turned out to be a totally fun laugh out loud book and very gripping. The ending wasn't what I expected at all but I did like it being a shocker!

I am giving this 4 stars if you're looking for a light read that's different then this is the book for you. Also thank you Jon Teckman for a copy of this in exchange for a honest review. It was lovely to meet you.

View all my reviews

18 December 2015

Take Three Birds by Jilli lime-Holt

Take Three BirdsTake Three Birds by Jilli Lime-Holt
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

OMG can I come with you next time?! What a fantastic refreshing book. I absolutely loved it, this is one of those books that I want to tell the world about!

This book is a memoir of three ladies or would women sound better?! lol who have made friends on social media through their love of books/writing and embark on a crazy adventure to meet up. What a brilliant idea, would would of thought of that eh?! very original and has quoted by Tottie "We call it Thelma and Louise without the canyon scene " it is most definitely that.

So there is Janet that lives in England, Tottie lives in france and doesn't travel and Jill who lives in Italy who came up with this brainwave idea. Janet then boards her first ever flight to meet Jill in Italy and together they embark on a crazy road trip in a twenty-year-old Fiat Punto, to disturb the peace of Tottie's little 'grottage' in France's Auvergne.

Take Three Birds will have you crying with laughter from start to finish. I read this in one sitting I simply couldn't put it down. I love the fact that it is written by not two people but by three and i feel that's one adventure on its own and a very brave thing to do. with the book being wrote by all three you get a good insight to all three ladies backgrounds and personalities. And boy what a good sense of humour you all have I felt that I was with you all the way on your crazy journey. You have all kept me highly entertained.

I can't wait to read your next instalment, Iv actually got my fingers crossed that this is going to happen. If your looking for a fun light read then this is the book for you i highly recommend this giving it a whooping massive 5 stars.
.
And a massive thank you to Tottie for a copy in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

17 December 2015

The Girl With No past by Kathryn Croft

The Girl With No PastThe Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After hearing lots of good things about this book I thought I would give it ago and it was definitely worth it. This is actually my first book by Kathryn croft and wont be my last . Wow what a gripping page turner down I simply couldn't put this down until I had devoured the whole book in just one evening. This book will have you guessing until the very end.


The story is about leigh hiding a secret from the past that catches up with her after a series of events. which keeps you guessing...... What on heard could Leigh have done that's so bad. And who is the person sending Leigh emails?! although I have to admit I did guess the emailer But then I was blown away with the massive secret then. I was like NO WAY I didn't see that coming. The chapters alternate between Leigh's high school past and the present day making you read more with the author weaving little pieces to the story which i found very clever.

Leigh was a brilliant character and you couldn't help but feel sorry for her with everything that's happened to her in the past is what makes her the way she is today living a lonely life and not letting people get close to her. Until she meets Julian and starts to have a normal life, Then it all goes horribly wrong.

This psychological thriller will have you on the edge of your sit and up all night reading with all the twists and turns. I am giving it 4 stars and I am looking forward to kathryn's next book due out in february

Thank you to Bookouture for an ARC in exchange for an honest review

View all my reviews

14 December 2015

For Reasons Unknown by Michael Wood

For Reasons UnknownFor Reasons Unknown by Michael Wood
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First of all I totally broke my book buying ban after seeing so many good reviews from my book blogger friends and bumped it up to the top of the pile and I have to say it was the best decision I made. I seriously can not believe this is a debut novel it is a shockingly good read.

The story starts off with a murder that was unsolved 20 years ago.Then moves forward to the present where the house that the murder takes place is being demolished and DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month sick absence she is tasked with re-opening the case.

The characters are so well written I could feel there and pain and emotion. I even laughed out loud a few times with the sarcasm that was woven in. Its a real life crime not Emmerdale was one of the lines that made me laugh.

This is one hell of a page turner I was totally gripped from the start to finish literally sitting on the edge of my seat while reading it. I read it in one sitting I just couldn't put it down even though I had worked it out half way through the book it still didn't spoil it for me. As there are that many twists and turns I was actually doubting whether I was right or not!

Over all I highly recommend this book it is definitely the book of the week for me and my ten 10 reads for 2015.I am giving this a whooping 5 stars. I cannot wait to read more of DCI Matilda Darke. This is going to be one hell of a series.







View all my reviews

12 December 2015

My Kind Of Justice Col Bury

My Kind of JusticeMy Kind of Justice by Col Bury
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First of all i would like to say thank you to Col Bury who gave me a copy of his book in exchange for an honest review after meeting him.This is Col Bury's debut novel and what a page turner it is. My first thoughts when i started this book was OMG as if this nice lovely bloke has wrote such a hardcore, gritty police novel and use such language. Yes a word of warning this book contains bad language but col has wrote it to fit in with the story which has been very well done and wouldn't seem right without it.Has it fits in with the story line.

My Kind Of Justice is set in the streets of Manchester which i found a refreshing change col clearly knows Manchester very well and shows this throughout the book. The Story starts off with a prologue set in the past then the actual story moves on to the present. But with Jack growing up in the Manchester having a past he wants to forget, is hard when he sees old friends around.It Keeps you wondering if DI Jack Strikers secret will ever come out. The story line is very believable and the characters are very likable and well written. I am looking forward to Davidson and Bardsley being developed more in the next installment.

This book is fast paced i read it in two evenings so if your looking for an action packed book with lots of twists and turns then I highly recommend this. I am giving it a massive 5 stars.

View all my reviews

Single All The Way (Singles #3) Elaine Spires

Single All The WaySingle All The Way by Elaine Spires
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


First of all I have to say thank you to Elaine for a copy of this in exchange for an honest review after meeting Elaine herself....what a lovely and friendly lady she is. I could actually see her fun personality shine through this book.

This is actually my first book by Elaine Spires and wont be my last. Wow what a fantastic enjoyable book. This is the third book in the trilogy but I felt that you can read it as a standalone. Has the are references to the characters in the other books which makes it easy to follow and understand.

The book starts off on Christmas eve with the singletons at a hotel in Essex while Eva the holiday rep is having her first Christmas off in years. until she receives a call from her boss begging her to go and take over after the original rep disappears overnight.

Each chapter is titled, day one, day two etc of the holiday which I liked. Has you move on through the book more characters are introduced some old some new from the trilogy. Yes there is quite a lot of characters in this book but Elaine as wrote it in such a way that you wont lose interest. And I normally don’t like to many characters in a book. I just couldn’t put this book down I found it very entertaining with loads of laugh out loud scenes as well as some heartbreaking scenes.

This story is about people with real life stories enjoying themselves on a singles Christmas holiday. Being single myself I can relate to this and would love to join them on a singles holiday. David is such a scream he did make me laugh.

I highly recommend this book it is the perfect Christmas read I am giving it a well deserved 5 stars. And cant wait to read the Single holidays and Single and Spice.





View all my reviews

6 December 2015

Detective Kim Stone Series by Angela Marsons

Lost Girls (D.I. Kim Stone, #3)Lost Girls by Angela Marsons
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First of all I have to say a big shout out that there is a new local author in town!! Having seen an advert for a new Black country crime author I was very excited to get cracking with Silent Scream, then before I know it Evil Minds is released and then Lost Girls. Angela Marsons has been busy this year. And kept me thoroughly entertained. So I thought I would review them as a whole.

Being a lass from the Black country I love the fact that I know most the places in the books. I am thinking Crestwood is named after a school and Holly tree is named after Holly Hall so I am probably the playing the guessing game more than other readers. Which adds more enjoyment. Love the mention of the Burger boys and the Johnsons in Lost Girls to. And Brummies are defiantly not the Black Country. You would not believe how many times I say that to people.

Angela’s books just get better every time, they are gripping fast paced and take you on a rollercoaster journey leaving you wanting more. With all three books I was draw in at the beginning until the end. I love the use of short chapters and them beginning an easy read. The descriptions are to the point and not overly described. But described enough to make this series very believable. Angela also shows sensitivity in the writing with the subject matters. You can feel the emotion as you turn the pages, With plenty of twists and turns. These books are extremely well written.

Its nice to see Kim’s character develop through her personality which is show more in The lost Girls. I am intrigued to know if there will be any developments with Kim and Bryant?! I love there relationship it as the perfect balance.

I highly recommend the Kim Stone series you will not be disappointed and I am giving all three a massive 5 stars. Now I am left eagerly awaiting the forth Kim Stone story.
And a massive thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for an arc of Lost Girls.






View all my reviews

4 December 2015

A Reason To Kill by Michael Kerr

A Reason To Kill (DI Matt Barnes)A Reason To Kill by Michael Kerr
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the first novel in the DI Matt Barnes series which was recommended to me through a book club and i was not disappointed. This book is absolutely brilliant from start to finish. I was gripped from the very first page.

A reason to kill starts off with DI Matt Barnes ending up in hospital with an injury. I was like wow where is this book going, how can the main character be in hospital at the beginning of the story?! I was totally sucked in and couldn't put it down.

I love the style of Micheal's writing it is well written,face paced,dark and gruesome. And definitely not for the squeamish with lots of action and violence. The characters are well described and believable. With an incredible insight to the evil twisted Gary Moon.

I honestly think this book should be up on the shelf's of waterstones with all the big author Micheal Kerr would defiantly give Chris Carter a run for his money. I highly recommend this book and i am giving it a well deserved 5 stars.

View all my reviews

In Bitter Chill by Sarah Ward

In Bitter ChillIn Bitter Chill by Sarah Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Wow what a fantastic debut novel, I brought this book purely because i was drawn to the cover and the title. I read this in one sitting has soon as i got back, i just couldn't put it down. This is a chilling, well written, gripping page turner and is now on my list of favorite reads for 2015.

Sarah Ward's style of writing draws you in straight from the start. The story is about about a kidnap which takes place in 1978 and a suicide that takes place in the present day. So the book flicks back and forth between the decades. Telling the story of both events, which made me want to know more. With lots of family secrets from the past that unravel the story in the present. There is a mixture of love, loss and family drama mixed in with crime in this story. And the main question being who did it?!

The characters are very well described and i loved the detail of how different things were in 1978 with the police investigation and little things like the green shield stamps.....as if i remember them lol.

DI Connie Shields and DI Frank Sadler are the police investigators in this story.I loved the relationship between the two of them and feel they gel well together.

I cannot wait for Sarah's second novel this is a massive well deserved 5 stars from me. I highly recommend it.


View all my reviews